Understanding Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Even if all motor vehicle operators exercise caution, accidents still occur. Fortunately, many accidents do not result in serious property damage or injuries. In nearly all cases, the individuals who are involved in an accident are also properly insured, which means that accident victims are able to receive adequate compensation for any resulting damage.
There are some situations, however, that can make it much more complicated for motor vehicle operators to receive that necessary compensation. For example, drivers who are responsible for accidents might not carry insurance at all, have basic insurance policies without bodily injury liability coverage, or have very little insurance coverage on their vehicles.
In these and many other situations, uninsured motorist coverage can be particularly helpful. Unfortunately, pursuing these cases can be complicated, which is why accident victims in these situations should not hesitate to obtain the assistance of a skilled attorney who will fight for the compensation that is deserved.
New Jersey’s Motor Vehicle Insurance Requirements
Motorists in New Jersey are required to carry a certain amount of coverage, but in many situations, the coverage is not enough to pay for damage that occurs. The state of New Jersey requires drivers to carry uninsured motor vehicle coverage with the following minimums:
- $5,000 for property damage caused by an accident
- $15,000 for injuries incurred by a single person in an accident
- $30,000 for injuries suffered by all individuals injured in an accident
It is important for motor vehicle operators to understand that these amounts are merely the least expensive level of coverage. It is almost always a much better idea to increase the amount of insurance coverage. Rather than rely on the minimums required by the state, it is a better idea to purchase uninsured coverage that protects you and your loved ones in case an accident occurs.
Navigating Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist Cases
To obtain underinsured or uninsured motorist coverage, a person must establish that the other driver was more responsible for the accident that occurred. As a result, gathering and presenting information to insurance companies (and sometimes to the court of law) is vital for making sure that an injured motorist receives compensation. It is important to understand, New Jersey’s comparative negligence law will result in an insurance company reducing the amount of compensation available by any percentage by which you helped to cause the accident.
If the other driver in an accident lacked insurance to cover your damages, you must still first submit your claim to the other person’s insurance carrier. In the event that after paying compensation under the other motorist’s policy, you have an insufficient amount to pay for the resulting damage, you can submit a claim under your own underinsured or uninsured motorist coverage policy.
Speak with an Experienced Accident Lawyer
Motor vehicle accidents frequently involve a complicated area of law, which require the assistance of an experienced accident attorney. Responding to an uninsured or underinsured motorist is just one additional complication that can make these cases challenging. If you or a loved one was injured in an accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured motorist, contact Ferrara & Gable today to schedule a free case evaluation.